Symphony No. 26

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Symphony No. 26 in Eb major

K161a, K184

About this work

Completed on March 30, 1773, in Salzburg, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart's Symphony No. 26 in E flat major, K. 184, is in three movements with all the movements played attacca. Scored for pairs of flutes, oboes, bassoons, horns, and strings, the Symphony in E flat major is a serious work with dramatic touches. The dramatic opening Molto presto starts with a main theme alternating between a strongly syncopated repeated note theme forte for the full orchestra and a tenderly sighing melody for the strings and piano. The central Andante in the relative minor is darkly romantic and full of lingering suspensions and appoggiaturas. The closing Allegro in triple time retains some of the harmonic coloration and the seriousness of the central Andante, but with a main theme like that of the finale of the composer's later Horn Concerto, also in E flat major, K. 495.