String Quartet No.18

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

String Quartet No.18 in A major

K464 • “Haydn Quartet No. 5”

About this work...

The penultimate of a group of six quartets composed between 1782 and 1785, the A major String Quartet (for two violins, viola and cello) was entered in Mozart's thematic catalog on January 10, 1785, just four days before the final work, the Quartet in C, K. 465. In a letter to his daughter Nannerl dated February 16th, ... read more