String Quartet No.17

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

String Quartet No.17 in Bb major

K458 • “Haydn Quartet No. 4: The Hunt”

About this work...

Nicknamed the "Hunt" because of the hunting-call motif that opens the work, the B flat quartet is the fourth of six string quartets composed by Mozart between 1782 and 1785. Over nine years separate the first of this group, K. 387 in G, from its predecessor among the quartets, K. 173 in D minor, composed in 1773. Vario... read more