The Bells

Sergey Rachmaninov

The Bells

Op. 35 • “Choral Symphony”

About this work...

While it is true that Rachmaninov's choral symphony The Bells was ultimately based on the Edgar Allan Poe poem of the same name, its more direct inspiration was the Konstantin Balmont translation into Russian, which takes substantial liberties with the text. He eliminated Poe's repetitions, which are so central to his ... read more