Symphonic Dances

Sergey Rachmaninov

Symphonic Dances

Op. 45

About this work...

Rachmaninov's trio of Symphonic Dances (1940) represents the composer's last completed work, and the only one he wrote wholly in the United States. The first of the three dances, marked Non allegro - Lento - Tempo I, begins with a vibrant three-note motif that makes its way through the orchestra, from woodwinds to stri... read more