Deutsche Motette

Richard Strauss

Deutsche Motette

Op. 62, TrV 83 • “Die Schöpfung ist zur Ruh gegangen”

About this work...

Strauss was working on his Alpine Symphony when he completed the Op. 62. Both pieces use highly chromatic tonality in a way that suggests the great, mountainous landscape found in Germany and Austria. The Deutsche Motette has especially wide chords, rich in nuance, and demonstrating the composer's astonishing harmonic ... read more