Eine Alpensinfonie

Richard Strauss

Eine Alpensinfonie

Op. 64, TrV 233 • “An Alpine Symphony”

About this work...

While Richard Strauss was famous as a composer of tone poems, he had, at the time of the Alpensinfonie, gone a dozen years without producing a major symphonic work after having shifted his focus to opera. Perhaps it was because World War I was underway and opportunities to produce new operas were fewer that he returned... read more