Symphony No. 2

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

Symphony No. 2 in C minor

Op. 17, TH25 • “Little Russian”

About this work...

While Tchaikovsky sometimes made use of folk themes, he rarely relied heavily on them. His Symphony No. 2, however, was an exception: he employed folk material in each of the work's four movements, more than in any other orchestral composition. In all, he drew on four melodies, each of Ukrainian origin (the work's nick... read more