Concerto grosso

Pietro Antonio Locatelli

Concerto grosso in F minor

Op. 1/8 • “Christmas Concerto”

About this work...

Like the seven works preceding it in Locatelli's Op. 1 collection, this eighth concerto takes the form of a sonata da chiesa, or church sonata, in which slow movements alternate with faster, fugal movements. (The last four works in the group are chamber sonatas, or dance suites.) Like the set as a whole, this concerto ... read more