String Quartet No.1

Image for work

Luigi Cherubini

String Quartet No.1 in Eb major

About this work...

A cantabile Adagio introduction in 3/4 time establishes a warm atmosphere for the first movement, but this placidity soon gives way to the livelier Allegro agitato. The first theme consists of ascending phrases, scattered muttering, and repeated pauses. This builds into steadier, driving material that leads to the seco... read more