Symphony No.4

Ludwig van Beethoven

Symphony No.4 in Bb major

Op. 60

About this work...

Robert Schumann described this symphony as "a slender Greek maiden between two Norse giants," and started the long-standing tradition which holds that somehow Beethoven's even-numbered symphonies are less profound than the odd-numbered ones. This may seem true at first glance, but there is much that Schumann's analysis... read more