Piano Sonata No.8

Image for work

Ludwig van Beethoven

Piano Sonata No.8 in C minor

Op. 13 • “Pathétique”

About this work...

This was the earliest of Beethoven's piano sonatas to reach warhorse status. The work is cast in three movements: the first is marked Grave-Allegro di molto e con brio; the second, Adagio cantabile; and the finale, Rondo (Allegro). Beethoven opens this composition with a slow, meditative introduction, using this featur... read more