Piano Trio No.5

Ludwig van Beethoven

Piano Trio No.5 in D major

Op. 70/1 • “Geist”

About this work...

The two piano trios of Ludwig van Beethoven's Opus 70 were both composed in 1808 during the composer's stay at the house of the Countess Marie von Erdödy; out of gratitude for her hospitality, he dedicated both works to her. The Op. 70 trios inaugurated a period during which Beethoven wrote a great deal of chamber musi...