Harold en Italie

Louis-Hector Berlioz

Harold en Italie

H68, Op. 16 • “Harold in Italy”

About this work...

Though the work was originally intended as a vehicle for the virtuoso violinist Nicolo Paganini to exhibit his considerable skill on the viola, Berlioz's Harold in Italy (1834) eventually became a four-movement symphony which Paganini, who wanted to be "playing all the time," eventually declined to perform. Somewhat ak... read more