String Quartet No.1

Image for work

Leoš Janáček

String Quartet No.1

JW7/8, JWvii/8 • “Kreutzer”

About this work...

Leos Janácek's String Quartet No. 1 is subtitled "The Kreutzer Sonata," after the story by Leo Tolstoy upon which it is based; the title of Tolstoy's story, of course, is taken from Ludwig van Beethoven's ninth violin sonata. This was not the first work Janácek wrote based on this Tolstoy story; a piano trio from 1908 ... read more