Tren Ofiarom Hiroszimy

Krzysztof Penderecki

Tren Ofiarom Hiroszimy

“Threnody for the Victims of Hiroshima”

About this work...

Threnody was completed in 1960, and remains one of Penderecki's best-known works. Composed at a time when serial technique dominated avant-garde music, Threnody is instead a deeply personal work, disturbing in its evocations of human misery and terror. Though it is dedicated to the victims of the atomic bomb dropped on...