String Quartet No.64

Joseph Haydn

String Quartet No.64 in D major

Hob. III/79, Op. 76/5 • “Erdödy Quartets”

About this work...

While he was working on his oratorio The Creation, Franz Josef Haydn (1732-1809) composed his String Quartets (6) published as his Op. 76 in 1796 through 1798. The String Quartet in D major for two violins, viola and cello is an entirely original work for a composer in his sixties, a work with a wholly unique opening m... read more