String Quartet No.65

Joseph Haydn

String Quartet No.65 in Eb Major

Hob. III/80, Op. 76/6 • “Erdödy Quartets”

About this work...

In his Opus 76 collection, Haydn saved his most peculiar quartet for last. The first movement, Allegretto, is not in the expected sonata form but varies a theme built out of short-breathed little phrases with a dotted rhythm. The first three variations all keep the melody in the forefront, adding light counterpoint alo... read more