String Quartet No.61

Joseph Haydn

String Quartet No.61 in D minor

Hob. III/76, Op. 76/2 • “Erdödy Quartets, Fifths”

About this work...

This quartet takes its primary nickname, "Fifths," from the dramatic falling intervals with which the first violin announces itself in the opening bars, a motif that Haydn will work obsessively and powerfully through the course of the Allegro -- the intervals of fifths sometimes falling but also sometimes rising. This ... read more