Ein deutsches Requiem

Johannes Brahms

Ein deutsches Requiem

Op. 45 • “German Requiem”

About this work...

Johannes Brahms' Ein deutsches Requiem (1863-1867) is not a setting of the German translation of the standard Requiem text. Rather, Brahms set a selection of Bible verses in German, treating death and its repercussions, and emphasizing consolation over religious observance. He avoided explicitly Christian references, a... read more