String Quintet No. 2

Image for work

Johannes Brahms

String Quintet No. 2 in G major

Op. 111

About this work...

The piano was the instrument with which Brahms felt most comfortable, and he hesitated to publish chamber music for strings, with or without piano, for many years. He generally asked violinist Joseph Joachim (1831-1907) for assessments of his works for strings before they were printed. The failure of a string quintet v... read more