Piano Concerto No.2

Johannes Brahms

Piano Concerto No.2 in Bb major

Op. 83

About this work...

Portly, grey-bearded, and a celebrity, on the eve of his 45th birthday, Johannes Brahms began sketching themes for the Second Piano Concerto following the first of eight trips to Italy. He put these aside, however, to compose the D major Violin Concerto. Still in a symphonic mode after his Second Symphony, he added a s...