Cantata No.188

Johann Sebastian Bach

Cantata No.188

BWV188 • “Ich habe meine Zuversicht”

About this work

Composed for the Twenty-first Sunday after Trinity from the year 1729, Bach's Cantata No. 188 "Ich habe meine Zuversicht" (I Have Put My Trust) (BWV 188) sets a text by his favorite librettist Picander. Thankfully, Picander noted in the preface to his publication of the text that the music it was written for was composed by Bach because the autographed score of "Ich habe meine Zuversicht" was cut to pieces and sold to private individuals sometime in the nineteenth century. Through careful scholarship, the score of "Ich habe meine Zuversicht" has been reconstructed from its sources. The cantata as it now stands is scored for tenor, bass, alto and soprano soloists, chorus, oboe, strings, and basso continuo. "Ich habe meine Zuversicht" starts with its first movement in F major, its second in C major, its third and fourth movements in D minor, and its fifth and final movement in A minor. The first movement is a fast, triple-time aria for tenor soloist, oboe, strings, and continuo. The second is a brief secco recitative for bass soloist and continuo and the third is the heart of the cantata, an expressive aria for alto soloist and virtuoso organ obbligato. The fourth movement is a recitative for soprano soloist accompanied by insistent strings and continuo. "Ich habe meine Zuversicht" concludes with a chorale harmonization for chorus and continuo.