Cantata No.146

Johann Sebastian Bach

Cantata No.146

BWV146 • “Wir müssen durch viel Trübsal”

About this work...

It was a lifelong habit for Bach to borrow musical material from his previous works for use in new compositions. BWV 146 ("We must through much tribulation enter the kingdom of God") offers an interesting example of this procedure; it includes a reworking of the first two movements of a lost violin concerto which also ...