Cantata No.89

Johann Sebastian Bach

Cantata No.89

BWV89 • “Was soll ich aus dir machen, Ephraim?”

About this work...

Composed for the Twenty second Sunday after Trinity, which fell on October 22, 1724, Bach's Cantata No. 89 "Was soll ich au dir machen, Ephraim?" (How shall I renounce you, Ephraim?) (BWV 89) sets an anonymous text based on the Old Testament passage from Hosea II 8:6. Starting with one of Bach's darkest and most vengef...