Symphony No.2

Johan Severin Svendsen

Symphony No.2 in Bb major

Op. 15

About this work...

The First Symphony of the Norwegian composer Johan Svendsen was a composition exercise by a talented pupil. Svendsen's Second, however, is the undoubted masterpiece of nineteenth century Norwegian symphonism. It was written in 1874, during Svendsen's most creative period. This was the same year he became sole conductor...