Symphony No.4

Hugo Alfvén

Symphony No.4 in C minor

Op. 39 • “Från havsbandet”

About this work...

The skerries are a series of archipelagos that lie seaward from Stockholm. Alfv‚n frequently sailed out to them, and as early as well before 1908 (when he first began sketching themes for this symphony) he concieved a wish to paint in music his impressions of the sea in this region. The work, played continuously, falls...