Recorder Sonata No.4

George Frideric Handel

Recorder Sonata No.4 in D minor

HWV367a • “Fitzwilliam 3”

About this work...

The ninth item in Handel's Op. 1 collection of chamber music is a B minor flute sonata, but Handel originally wrote it in D minor for either recorder or violin. It is by far Handel's most extensive recorder sonata, falling into seven movements that spread over nearly a quarter hour. First comes a Largo that carefully p...