Erster Verlust

Franz Schubert

Erster Verlust in F minor

D226, Op. 5/4 • “Ach, wer bringt die schönen Tage”

About this work...

The third of Schubert's three Goethe settings from July 5, 1815, Erster Verlust (First Loss) (D. 226) has neither the passionate yearning of Wandrers Nachtlied (I) nor the immediate appeal of Der Fischer. What it has, however, more than compensates for what it lacks. Indeed, its subject is nostalgia, a longing that can... read more