An Silvia

Franz Schubert

An Silvia in A major

D891, Op. 106/4 • “Was ist Silvia, saget an”

About this work...

This is one of Schubert's three settings of Shakespeare texts from July 1826, the other two being Ständchen ("Hark, Hark, the Lark"), D. 889, and Trinklied ("Come, thou monarch of the vine"), D. 888. The composer was at the height of his powers, producing in the same year such masterpieces as the Symphony No. 9 in C ma...