Mephisto Waltz No.1

Franz Liszt

Mephisto Waltz No.1

S. 514 • “Der Tanz in der Dorfschenke”

About this work...

Franz Liszt's personality was complex: the wildest possible extremes of both behavior and philosophy were as natural as breathing to this man who lived as a flamboyant virtuoso, sired a number of illegitimate children, and yet took minor orders in the Catholic hiararchy. His intense devotion to the Christian faith was ... read more