String Octet

Image for work

Felix Mendelssohn

String Octet in Eb major

Op. 20

About this work...

In 1825, when Mendelssohn completed his Octet, Op. 20, he had already produced his first numbered symphony a year earlier, but the octet is more sophisticated and may safely be considered a full blown symphony, even though written for only eight string players. Mendelssohn's own words, written on the autograph score in... read more