Symphony No.4

Felix Mendelssohn

Symphony No.4 in A major

Op. 90 • “Italian Symphony”

About this work...

In early 1833, Mendelssohn completed his Symphony No. 4 in A major, published posthumously as his Op. 90. He started the piece in Italy in 1832 and finished it in Berlin. It was first performed in London on March 13, 1833, and has since been Mendelssohn's most popular symphony. The composer gave the piece its nickname,... read more