Violin Sonata No.1

Edvard Grieg

Violin Sonata No.1 in F major

Op. 8

About this work...

It was almost certainly his friendship with Norwegian violin superstar Ole Bull that prompted Edvard Grieg to compose the first of his three violin sonatas, the Sonata for violin and piano No. 1 in F major, Op. 8 (1865). Grieg had met Bull many years earlier -- as a teenager with no formal musical training -- and the e... read more