String Quartet No.8

Dmitry Shostakovich

String Quartet No.8 in C minor

Op. 110

About this work...

The String Quartet No. 8 is a complex, melancholy work written while Shostakovich was visiting Dresden, Germany, in 1960, where he was to provide music for the film Five Days-Five Nights. There, amid the rubble still visible from the Allied bombings during World War II, he was inspired to composed this quartet in remem... read more