The Gadfly

Dmitry Shostakovich

The Gadfly

Op. 97a

About this work...

When Shostakovich wrote this film music, the propaganda machine had so far shut down that he was able to write without ideological interference and this music reflects the advantages of this unaccustomed liberty. The story involves the rebellion in the nineteenth century of the Italians against the Austrians. The struc... read more