Symphony No.7

Dmitry Shostakovich

Symphony No.7 in C major

Op. 60 • “Leningrad”

About this work...

It is impossible to deny the overwhelming impact Shostakovich's Symphony No. 7 had on its listeners in 1942. Written by Shostakovich after he had been transported out of his besieged hometown of Leningrad, the Seventh is a patriotic hymn to his city and country and a rallying cry to the foes of fascism. Its premiere in... read more