Piano Concerto No.2

Carl Maria von Weber

Piano Concerto No.2 in Eb major

J155, Op. 32

About this work

Carl Maria von Weber (1786-1826) composed his Piano Concerto in E flat major in 1812 and gave the work its premiere in Gotha the same year. The work is clearly and directly modeled on Beethoven's Piano Concerto in E flat major, a work Weber purchased in 1810. Both works are in three movements, with the opening and closing movements in E flat major and the central movement in B major. Like Beethoven's Concerto, Weber's opening Allegro maestoso is athletic and virtuosic, albeit Weber fit his to suit his own brilliant technique. Like Beethoven's Concerto, Weber's central Adagio is full of elevated pathos and heartrending lyricism, albeit Weber's melodies are far more overtly Romantic than Beethoven's. And like Beethoven's Concerto, Weber's closing Rondo Presto is in 6/8 time and features unexpected modulations and transitions, albeit Weber's orchestration is far more colorful and unusual than Beethoven's.