Violin Sonata No.1

Camille Saint-Saëns

Violin Sonata No.1 in D minor

Op. 75

About this work...

The earlier of Saint-Saëns' two sonatas for violin and piano, in D minor, Op. 75, was written in 1885. Clearly modeled on the heroic Beethovenian ideal of sonata composition, the principal quality of this impressive work is, to quote William Livingstone, that it "embodies the Apollonian control and moderation that are ... read more