String Quartet No.2

Benjamin Britten

String Quartet No.2 in C major

Op. 36

About this work...

In 1945 the British musical world commemorated the 200th anniversary of the death of English baroque composer Henry Purcell. Although Britten was said to keep always a copy of Haydn string quartets at his beside, he was not a natural sonata-form composer. But the few times he did use this form (which is the natural for... read more