String Quartet No.4

Béla Bartók

String Quartet No.4

Sz. 91, BB95

About this work...

Bartók's String Quartet No. 4 was written in the summer of 1928 and premiered that fall by the Kolisch Quartet, led by Arnold Schoenberg's brother-in-law, Rudolf Kolisch. The work represents both an intensification and relaxation of elements present in Bartók's previous quartet, completed a year before the fourth. Whil... read more