String Quartet No.1

Béla Bartók

String Quartet No.1

Sz. 40, Op. 7, BB52

About this work...

In a letter to violinist Stefi Geyer, Bartók described the opening movement of this quartet as his "funeral dirge." The quartet's first four notes -- two descending minor sixths played imitatively by the first and second violins -- are nearly identical to the opening motif of the second, giocoso, movement of the Violin... read more