Stabat mater

Image for work

Arvo Pärt

Stabat mater

About this work...

This 1985 setting of the traditional text was commissioned by the Alban Berg Foundation. It is scored for three high voices - soprano, counter-tenor and tenor - with the accompaniment of violin, viola and cello. The 25-minute work begins with an introduction by the string trio that begins pianissimo in the high regions... read more