Flute Concerto

Antonio Vivaldi

Flute Concerto in F major

Op. 10/5, RV434

About this work

Although there had been scattered flute concertos composed in Italy before 1728, when Michel-Charles Le Cene published Antonio Vivaldi's set of Concertos (6) for flute in 1728 it became the first complete collection of flute concertos published in Italy. Five of the six works are adaptations of earlier works in Vivaldi's career and the fifth, the Concerto in F major for flute, strings, and basso continuo, RV 434, was directly modeled aftera concerto originally composed for recorder, strings, and basso continuo (RV 442). The opening Allegro is a gentle and relaxed movement with a graceful theme for the opening ripieno alternating with gloriously warm and gorgeously colored passages for the soloist. The central Largo, a transcription of the original slow movement moved up from F minor to G minor to accommodate the instrument, is a softly sorrowful nocturne with a quietly expressive melody for the soloist. The closing Allegro is the first truly fast music in the concerto, but it makes up for its lateness by being especially energetic with strong lines for the strings against piping lines for the soloist.