Symphony No.8

Antonín Dvořák

Symphony No.8 in G major

B163, Op. 88 • “English”

About this work...

Dvorák had been embarrassed when mature works were issued as early ones, while his nationalism had been offended by the persistent Germanizing of his first name as "Anton." In 1889, no longer a naïf provincial, Dvorák chose to interpret the offer of 1,000 Deutschmarks -- 5,000 less than he had paid for the instantly po... read more