Symphony No.8

Anton Bruckner

Symphony No.8 in C minor

WAB108 • “Apocalyptic”

About this work...

In 1887, an elated Anton Bruckner sent the score of his eighth symphony to his newly found champion, conductor Hermann Levi. The accompanying letter read, "To my artistic father. Alleluia! May it find grace!" Nevertheless, this immense symphony, dwarfing anything in history before it, was greeted with trepidation by th... read more