Symphony No.1

Alexander Glazunov

Symphony No.1 in E major

Op. 5

About this work...

The story of the composition and premiere of the Symphony No. 1 in E major, Op. 5 (1881 - 1882), by Alexander Glazunov (1865 - 1936), is one of the great tales from the Silver Age of Russian music. Glazunov, the son of a book seller father and a pianist mother, had demonstrated prodigious musical ability from an early ... read more