Symphony No.5

Alexander Glazunov

Symphony No.5 in Bb major

Op. 55 • “Eroica”

About this work...

The Symphony No. 5 of Russian composer Alexander Glazunov is a fine example of the post-Tchaikovsky symphony of the Russian Silver Age. Composed in 1895 -- that is, two years after Tchaikovsky's premature death -- Glazunov's Fifth is composed with memorable themes set in powerful forms and scored with craftsmanship. A ...