Alleluia and Fugue

Alan Hovhaness

Alleluia and Fugue

Op. 40b

About this work...

The Alleluia and Fugue (1941), one of Hovhaness' earliest works for string orchestra, is a companion to the Psalm and Fugue of the same year. The richness of its textures -- the violins are divided into six parts, the cellos into two -- owes a great debt to choral music of the Renaissance, as well as more modern works ... read more