Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra

Founded 1888

Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra



The Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra was established in 1888 and is based in the Concertgebouw in Amsterdam, the Netherlands. The orchestra has been among the most prominent orchestras in the world. In 1988, the Dutch Queen Beatrix personally conferred the ‘Royal’ title upon the orchestra. The orchestra is known for having only eight chief conductors over its long history, setting it apart from orchestras of similar age and calibre.

Images courtesy of Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra.